Study in Croatia

24 Oct

Croatia (Hrvatska), officially the Republic of Croatia (Republika Hrvatska) is situated in South-Eastern Europe at the crossroads of the Adriatic Sea and the Pannonian Plain.
Croatia borders with Hungary in the north, Slovenia in the north-west, Serbia in the north-east, Bosnia and Herzegovina in the total length of the lower part of the Croatia’s crescent shape, Montenegro in the extreme south, and Italy and Slovenia on the Adriatic Sea.
Croatia is classified as an open and developing economy by the International Monetary Fund and a high income economy by the World Bank. Traditionally, Croatia is a tourism oriented country.
Historical heritage, natural beauty and a pleasant climate make up the framework which, together with high quality accommodation, gastronomic excellence and a rich supply of activities and entertainment, enables Croatia to attract the modern-day tourist.
Zagreb is the capital of Croatia and also the largest city in the country. It is situated in the north-west of the country, along the Sava River with a population of almost one million inhabitants. It is the political, economic, cultural and scientific centre of Croatia.

Recognition of foreign educational qualifications in Croatia is carried out for the purpose of continuation of education at Croatian higher education institutions (academic recognition) or for the purpose of employment in Croatia (professional recognition).All higher education institutions that accept international students usually have an International Cooperation Office and prospective students should contact that office well before applying in order to obtain relevant information on what educational qualifications need to be recognised in order to apply for the study programme in question.After students have completed their degrees in Croatia, the same process of recognition takes place in the students’ country of origin.
Recognition of secondary school qualifications
Prospective applicants to undergraduate study programmes in Croatia who hold foreign secondary school diploma from general, gymnasium and art secondary schools submit requests for recognition of their educational qualifications to the Education and Teacher Training Agency. Detailed instructions, request forms and list of supporting documents are available at:…
Recognition of higher education qualifications for the purpose of continuation of education
Prospective students who wish to apply for graduate or postgraduate study programmes and have a foreign higher education qualification or degree, will need to undergo the process of academic recognition for the purpose of continuation of education in Croatia, which is performed by Croatian higher education institutions.

Croatia has 128 higher education institutions located in all parts of the country – including a total of 36 on Croatia’s spectacular Adriatic coast! Croatia’s largest university is the University of Zagreb with over 75,000 enrolled students – making it the largest university in the region of South-Eastern Europe. The University of Zagreb is also the oldest university in the region.

University Studies:
Undergraduate university studies normally last for three to four years (six or eight semesters) and students earn 180-240 ECTS credits. Upon completion, students are awarded an academic title of Bachelor (prvostupnik) with reference to a specialisation, which qualifies a student for specialised work in art or science. Students can continue their studies at graduate university or specialist professional graduate level, or enter the labour market.
Graduate university studies normally last for one to two years (two or four semesters) and students earn 60-120 ECTS credits. The total number of credits earned after completing both undergraduate and graduate studies is at least 300 ECTS credits in total. Upon completion of both undergraduate and graduate studies, students are awarded an academic title of Master (magistar struke) with reference to a specialisation. Students can continue their studies at postgraduate university level or enter the labour market.
Postgraduate university studies are divided into specialist and doctoral studies.
Specialist studies lead towards specialisation in a profession and last for one to two years. Upon completion, the student is awarded the title of University Specialist with reference to a specialisation (univ. spec.).

Admission Procedure :

Visa Procedure :